L.A. Woman, I see your hills burning.

My LA Homeland is burning.

I know it happens. I know it is a natural occurance. I know we lost a house to fire in the middle of a snowy night,1500 miles away and when we moved to LA in 1960, my Father would stand on the roof of our home with his garden hose and swear that fires would not take us down again.

No God Damn fire.

I will never forget the newscasts. Of seeing his black outline on our roof with raging fires behind him: a garden hose against the fires of hell. He had been fried and scarred once by a fire…he wasn’t about to let it happen again and he fought it.

Today,there are Moms and Dads and garden hoses to fight the flames. They are afraid, but they are fighting.
Fire, you have made your point. We are powerless against your rage, but we will fight you. We will bring you down. You will not control us.

LA Fires

LA Woman,

Jim Morrison and the Doors.

I see your hair is burnin’
Hills are filled with fire
If they say I never loved you
You know they are a liar
Drivin’ down your freeway
Midnight alleys roam
Cops in cars,
The topless bars
Never saw a woman…
So alone, so alone
So alone, so alone

L.A. Woman

One thought on “L.A. Woman, I see your hills burning.

Leave a Reply

